World No Tobacco Day 2018

Tobacco and heart diseaseThe theme for World No Tobacco Day 2018 is “Tobacco and heart disease”  

Cardiovascular diseases (CVD) kill more people than any other cause of death worldwide, and tobacco use and second-hand smoke exposure contribute to approximately 12% of all heart disease deaths. Tobacco use is the second leading cause of CVD, after high blood pressure.

In the African Region, about 146 000 adults aged 30 years and above die every year from tobacco-related diseases. When tobacco users die prematurely in their productive years, families lose loved ones and income, and economic development is negatively affected.

Eliminating tobacco use will help to protect hearts from breaking. Let us choose health, not tobacco.

Message of the regional director, Dr Matshidiso Moeti, on the occasion of world no tobacco day, 31 May 2018

Download posters

Infographics, materials for social media


Fact sheet on tobacco control

Quiting tobacco


Winners of the 2018 World No Tobacco Day Awards in the African Region

Winners of the 2018 World No Tobacco Day awards in the African Region 
Every year, the World Health Organization recognizes individuals or organizations from its six Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. The World No Tobacco Day 2018 Award Winners from the African Region are: 

  • Professor Fastone Mathew Goma, University of Zambia School of Medicine, Zambia
  • Mme Likibi-Boho Rosalie, Point Focal National de lutte antitabac, Ministère de la Santé et de la Population, Congo
  • Dr Nenodji Mbairo, Coordinatrice du Programme National de lutte contre le tabac, l’alcool et les drogues Ministère de la Santé Publique, Tchad 
  • Dr Désiré Habonimana, Maitre-Assistant à la Faculté de Médecine, Université de Burundi et Directeur Exécutif de Health Healing Network Burundi 
  • Mrs Charity Aienobe-Asekharen, Health Promotion Education & Community Development Initiative, Nigeria 
  • Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, the Republic of the Gambia 

These six award winners will be recognized for their outstanding contribution to tobacco control in their respective countries.